RSS

Friday Fictioneers – Icy Moguls

30 Aug

This is a photo prompt for Madison Woods’s Friday Fictioneers.  The only requirement for membership is the desire to write 100 words based upon your reaction. All are welcome, All are Judged.

The Moguls on the Way to Base Camp

 

The icy moguls were hidden under fresh powder. I had assumed that they would all send my knees to my chest, one after another, until I reached the base camp. The first hit sent loose powder into my face, happily received. The ice made a scraaaaaaape against the newly sharpened edge of my homemade skis. The ice beat the edge and my feet fell from under me. My hip bone felt the collision through the thermal underwear and ski-bibs. I got up, looked uphill. Done, I looked downhill, so far down, undone. No wedge, skis parallel, tips downhill, deep breath.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in Flash Fiction

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Friday Fictioneers – Icy Moguls

  1. sustainabilitea

    August 30, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Ooooh, makes me want to ski as well as taking another look at the photo and seeing what you saw. A different take…in a good way!

     
  2. rochellewisoff

    August 30, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    A still have no desire to ski. interesting take.

     
  3. Sandra

    August 31, 2012 at 3:17 am

    An interesting take on the prompt – there are some diverse reactions to this photo. It doesn’t make me want to ski either. Nicely done, very descriptive.

     
  4. dmmacilroy

    August 31, 2012 at 7:36 am

    I love the interpretation of the prompt. Very imaginative take.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/satisfaction-brought-them-back/

     
  5. kindredspirit23

    August 31, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Scared of skiing; love to watch. By the way, the link at “homemade skis” doesn’t work.

     
  6. readinpleasure

    August 31, 2012 at 11:18 am

    A fine and interesting take on the prompt. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fictioneers-harmattan-rain/

     
  7. elmowrites

    August 31, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    I’m not a skier, so I think I missed out on some of the meaning here, but the last line makes me take a deep breath of my own, wondering what happens next.
    I’m over here – http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fiction-white-pegasi/

     
  8. Rachel Paterson

    August 31, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Now you’ve said ‘Mogul’, I can’t believe I didn’t see it before. Love ‘happily received’. Always good when the protagonist is having fun. 🙂

     
  9. Antonia Fenton

    September 1, 2012 at 4:59 am

    You really feel the exhilaration and the air in your when you read this. Well done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
即日審査キャッシング選りすぐり即日審査キャッシング選りすぐり »

A manifest for living for today in unison with your neighbors, brothers, and others.

Anti-Sophist

Demolishing Hype Questioning Reality

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Capitalism and Friedman

Dedicated to the Teachings of Milton Friedeman

bradypiper.wordpress.com/

This site is the dog’s pajamas because that's what this tagline says.

Xavier's Blog

"The resistance of the impoverished is not a voluntary phenomenon"

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

