Friday Fictioneers – The Work

This is the Photo prompt for Madison Woods’s Friday Fictioneers. It is a 100 word story challenge. In the Immortal words of the late Adam Yauch : Check-it-check-it out!

Image

 

He didn’t heed the warning. Cousin Oyster warned him. He would tuck him in at night with stories of stories. He assured him that the sea doesn’t boil, and pigs don’t have wings. Don’t gather round and listen to those two buffoons. Generations of the Mollusk and Bivalve families have. The Walrus and the Carpenter aren’t to be trusted. The hard-shelled have to feel it to believe it. The work: ignored. The draw of intrigue and fantasy gripped him by the foot, sliced his adductors, protection gone, in one hungry slurp mantle and all were engulfed, home discarded to become a tourist’s necklace.  

6 Comments

  1. I have always wondered whether I would write stuff like Lewis Caroll, if I got on the opium, like he did. Now that I think of it, Opium by Yves Saint-Laurent is my favourite perfume. Perhaps I should try harder! This was a great take on the prompt. The young seldom heed warnings.

Leave a comment